Navigation:  Techinline Expert User’s Guide > Performing Techinline Operations >

Sharing Desktop Control

Techinline Remote Desktop Client User Guide Techinline Remote Desktop Expert User Guide Print this Topic Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

Share Desktop Control is a mode which allows the Client to remotely view your desktop and control your mouse and keyboard. It may be useful when you need to demonstrate something to the Client on your own desktop and share control of the mouse and keyboard.

To allow the Client to control your computer:

1.Connect to the Client's computer and start the support session. The Expert Main Form (Active Session Status) will appear.
The Expert Main Form (Active Session Status)

The Expert Main Form (Active Session Status)

2.Click the Connect the remote user to your desktop button ().
3.Choose the Local desktop control menu item.
Click Local Desktop Control

Click Local Desktop Control

Note. If the Remote Desktop View/Control session is in progress, it will be stopped and the Share Desktop Control session will be started. You cannot work on the Client's desktop and provide local control of your desktop to the Client simultaneously.

4.When the Share Desktop Control session has been established, the Client can view your desktop and control your mouse and keyboard.

Note. The Techinline service allows both the Expert and the Client to simultaneously control the Expert's mouse and keyboard during the Share Desktop Control session.

The Client will see your desktop in one of the following ways:

The Remote Desktop Control toolbar will appear on the Client's screen if the Client's screen resolution is equal to or lower than yours. Your desktop will be shown in full screen mode.
The Remote Desktop Control Toolbar

The Remote Desktop Control Toolbar

 

The Remote Desktop Control window will appear on the Client's screen if the Client's screen resolution is higher than yours.

The Client can switch between the full screen mode and window modes:

To switch to the full screen mode, the Client must click the Maximize button in the Remote Desktop Control window.
To switch to the window mode, the Client must click the Restore Down button on the Remote Desktop Control toolar.

In some cases, the Client may need to adjust the settings for viewing and controlling your desktop. For more details, see the following topics in the Client User’s Guide: Managing Remote Session Options, Viewing and Controlling Multiple Remote Desktops, and Using Tools.

To stop sharing control of your computer with the Client, do one of the following:

Click the Disconnect the remote user from your desktop button () on the Expert Main Form (Active Session Status).
The Client must click the Close button on the Remote Desktop Control toolbar, or click the Close button in the Remote Desktop Control window.

Once you have ended the controlling session, you can perform other Techinline operations.

 

If an Expert is not launched as a service:

If UAC is enabled (option available for OS Vista and above) and the Expert decides to share their local screen with the Client, the following message will be displayed:

If the Expert selects Yes, the Client will be able to see all UAC dialogs in the remote session window as well as perform any operations associated with them.

If the Expert selects No, the following message will be displayed in the Client's remote session window instead of UAC dialogs:

 

See also:

Managing Remote Session Options

Viewing the Remote Desktop

Controlling the Remote Desktop

Rebooting the Remote Computer

Sharing Desktop View

Interacting with the Client via Chat

Transferring Folders, Files, Text

Disconnecting from the Client

Finishing Work with the Service

 


Page url: http://www.techinline.com/Help/index.htm?sharing_desktop_control.html