To connect to the Client's computer as the Expert and start a session:
|1.||Launch the Techinline service as the Expert. The Expert Main Form (Pre-Session Status) will appear.|
The Expert Main Form (Pre-Session Status)
|2.||In the Client ID field, enter the Client ID provided by the Client.|
Enter the Client ID provided by the Client
Note. Client ID is a service-generated 6-digit number which is used to identify the Client during their connection to the support session. The Client always receives a new Client ID which cannot be used for the second time to connect to an Expert's support session. To learn how the Client can obtain their Client ID and send the Client ID to you, see the topics Launching the Service and Sending Client ID in the Client's User Guide.
If you press the Connect button without entering a Client ID number, the following message will be displayed in your chat board:
If you enter the wrong Client ID number, you will receive the following message:
If you connect with the Client and following a disconnect, attempt to enter the same Client ID used for your earlier connection, you will receive the following message:
If you press the Exit button and receive a new Client ID, but attempt to enter the Client ID which was generated previously, the following message will be displayed:
Note. A Client ID is valid for one hour. If a support session has not been launched within one hour of generating the Client ID, the Client ID will become invalid.
|3.||In the Notes field, enter the description of the support session with the Client.|
Enter the descriptoion of the support session with the Client
Note. The Notes field is optional: it may be left empty and can be edited later during the session. The content of this field will be displayed in Session Usage Report (reports which keep track of all conducted sessions and provide information output on them).
|4.||Click the Connect button.|
Note. If you are logged in to the system but are not connected to the Client, you will be automatically logged out after 8 hours of inactivity.
The Client will receive a request to allow you to connect to their machine and perform any of the following Techinline operations:
|•||View the Client's desktop, and control the Client's mouse and keyboard|
|•||Transfer, delete, move, or copy files and folders|
|•||Transfer clipboard content|
|•||Reboot the Client's computer|
You will receive the following message: "Remote client located. Waiting for client's connection approval."
|5.||Wait until the Client responds to the request:|
|•||If the Client gives you permission by clicking the Accept button, the connection will be established and all of the Techinline operations will be available for the duration of the current session.|
When you connect to the Client's computer, the Expert Main Form (Active Session Status) will appear. You will receive the following message: "Support session has been established with the client."
The Expert Main Form (Active Session Status)
|•||If the Client rejects your request by clicking the Cancel link, the connection will not be established and you will receive the following message: "Client has declined the connection."|
Note. To cancel the request for permission, click the Disconnect button.
Note. The Client must respond to the request (either accept or cancel it) within 5 minutes. After a 5-minute timeout, the connection will be closed.
Once you have connected to the Client as the Expert, you can do any of the following: